Home > Conferences > Umbrella 2011 – Session F: Mashed Libraries

Umbrella 2011 – Session F: Mashed Libraries

I loved this session. I have followed Mashed Libraries events in the past on Twitter but haven’t been able to attend one myself so this workshop really appealed to me.

Key points:

  • Mashed library sessions bring libraries and technology together. They are organised ‘unconference’-style meetings where librarians and techies exchange ideas and solve problems.
  • We were asked to get into groups and come up with our own ideas for a Mashed Libraries event.

IDEA: Fishfingers and mash, 20th November 2011 (International Children’s Day). Mashup = design an educational resource for children and young people experiencing life/family difficulties e.g. divorce, adoption, fostering. Needs to marry up published resources and some form of interactive online presence. Everyone brings their own cakes, cookies, muffins and biscuits to sell. Competition for the best cakes! Prizes for great mashup ideas (following the children theme) include pots of bubbles and balloons

I managed to collect up the post-it notes from the session but stupidly didn’t think to write down a list of the people that were in the group. If anyone was in that session and can help me out, I’d appreciate it as I think we might have a good idea here…

  1. August 12, 2011 at 19:56

    Hi. Just a quickie to say I like your posts which are very good examples of reflective practice – listing ideas of how you can apply what you have learned is great and something I try to do but don’t necessarily add to my blogposts.
    On another note, I love the simplicity of adding an RSS feed of your posts to Google Reader – some blogs make it quite tricky!

    • August 31, 2011 at 19:34

      Hi – thanks for your v positive comments on LwL. One day I’ll turn this reflective writing into Revalidation. One day…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

